Home server/workstation with virtualization

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

ruffpl

Dec 19, 2017
Hi and sorry in advance for my bad english.

I have a lot of questions because I have no experience in virtual systems ( I only used VirtualBox several times on Windows) and unix just for fun/rooting smartphones, etc.
I am in the middle of setup of my home server because I no longer have time to assemble new pcs in home, just want to have one professional central unit. The initially assumed expanded diy NAS turned into a solid rack-mounted workstation. It will be a main home computer located in a separate closed server room (along with router/switch, LTO backup, UPS and all cabling). It will be used by all household members, connecting to it via ethernet from their weaker laptops/PCs to access of their files (and maybe also virtual systems in the future). The equipment on which it will be based is Supermicro x10drhc motherboard with two xeons e52640v3, 16gb ddr4 ecc for each processor (for now), dual port GbE LAN and 1000W PSU all connected to Dlink 48port gigabit switch (DGS-1210-48). I am currently waiting for the provider to connect fiber internet so I don't know what additional equipment I will get to it. Until now in my last house I stored everything on a complex pc/NAS based on intel board, corei5, pendrive as bootloader and 8 sata hdds with Xpenology system installed on it.

I have a dilemma of how and what system I should install. Here's a list of what I would like to use it for:

- I need space to store a large amount of data (ZFS or BTRFS) with option of recovering it in the event of a failure ( i got previously purchased sata WD reds and Seagate Ironwolfs)

- system as NAS multimedia server (movies, music, etc) to stream it on tvs and smartphones by DLNA