Home Lab and Router build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

krawl

Sep 10, 2020
Hi All,

First time poster - A word of warning, I am quite green when it comes to builds

I am currently studying at university and I learn more from doing than reading text. It has come to the point where I need to invest in some hardware so I can practice what I am learning (most likely failing on a number of occasions).

I am chasing some advice and information regarding a potential home build which I would like for the below
  • I want to run a home router; I am interested in learning a bit more about setting up a network, applying vlans, applying different network security mechanisms.
  • I want to jump into the deep end with visualisation - the only experience I have at the moment is running vmware on my mac (so pretty much no experience)
  • I want to be able to run kali images to work on pen testing and various hack the box challenges
  • I want to be able to run a potential media server - I have a box (old now) that has a large array of media on it. It has been turned off for a while and I would like to have access to that media
  • I want to be able to run up other servers where required - for network testing purposes, potential ability to look at hosting web servers for my own use, etc
Pretty much I am looking at running three or four prolonged virtual machines with the ability to run some up when required.

I am chasing some advice on wether or not to group the home router in with the vm set up, or look at investing into two sets of hardware?