Help with building JBOD for R815

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

joey238

Apr 14, 2018
Hi all,

I picked up 4 x Poweredge R815 servers at auction. They came fully loaded - 4 x Opteron 6276, 256gb ddr3, PERC H700, QLogic QLE8242, 2 x 1100w PSUs, etc.

I am very new to working with servers and have some basic questions for a build I'm considering.

Firstly, this is mostly just a project to have some fun tinkering with. I do not intend to actually make a profit (at least not within 2 years) but I want to get at least one of these servers set up to rent storage space -probably with Storj, as I've already been renting with Storj on a much smaller scale. Maybe farther down the road and depending on power consumption it might make sense to use any extra cpu power to mine with CryptoNight or something. We'll see.

Each node on Storj requires 1 core, at least 2 gb of RAM, and can be as large as 8 tb. Theoretically, then, as the Opteron 6276s each have 16 cores, I figure I could put up to 64 x 8 tb drives on one of these things. I don't want to drop a ton of money on enclosures of any kind, even cheap, 24-bay Norco rack mounts if it can be helped; I'd rather just connect a ton of 8tb barracuda SATAs (the cheapest solution I've found) on a shelving rack or something using some extra fans I have and either an ATX PSU or, ideally, one of the many 1100w PSUs I now have.