~~Help~~: ~~~Newbie~~~First~~~Server~~~

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
Oct 22, 2018
Geeks, I am a newbie, trying to build a server for my skillset development.

I know .net development and wish to learn cloud-based technologies.

I am planning to set up a lab having around 10-20 virtual machines (SQL Server, Oracle, Workstation, build server, test server, LB etc...) using Hyper-V.

I have chosen a used Dell PowerEdge 1U R620 from eBay around $300. Configuration listed below.

Processor: 2 x Xeon E5-2670
RAM: 128 GB
HDD: None
No RAID cards & No power cables
The whole purpose of the server is ONLY for learning and 0% professional.

Geeks, please answer my questions.
1: Is this choice correct?
2: Can I add desktop HDD (5400 / 7200 rpm) to the server which is available on eBay for few bucks? Share, if there are any other cheap options.
3: Is it necessary to have a RAID card for up and running the server?
4: I am planning to have this server in my living room. Will it generate a lot of noise? (Work hours: ~4 hours of a day).
5: Is there any other important components I am missing?
6: What are all the key points I need to remember before starting the build? Let me know from your experience.

Thanks

marcoi

Apr 6, 2013
Gotha Florida
Here some answers:
2: Can I add desktop HDD (5400 / 7200 rpm) to the server which is available on eBay for few bucks? Share, if there are any other cheap options. - A: you need to check the configuration and manual. I know some dells backplain (where hdd connect too) are either SATA or SAS and sometime support both. Once you know which type are supported you can decide on what to get for storage.