[Help needed] Data recovery (media collection) from a mdadm array

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Kristian

Jun 1, 2013
Some of you may have seen my initial post:
https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/feedback-wanted-os-for-my-aio-homeserver-solved-recovery-of-a-crahed-xpenology-volume.6478/
So rubylaser was able to recover the recover my array with some effort (fsck, rebuilding the group descriptors, and the superblocks).

Of my original 21TB of data only 5TB seem to be recoverable instantly.
This includes the family photos, so I am ultimately happy.

For the rest I want to use something like Scapel or Photorec (tools I have never used before)

So now I would like to get back as much of the Data that could not be recovered as possible.

The content I am looking to restore is mainly recorded TV shows, our DVD and BlueRay collection, so nothing of big importance. (Leave aside the PITA to carry the 4 boxes (each weighting 30kg+ from the attic into the basement and let handbrake run for some months)

File formats will be mkv mostly.

But before I begin using Scalpel there are a few questions I would like to address:

1.) When I click right and open the properties of the array the following is shown:
Dropbox - Screen.jpg

Is this the normal behaviour?

Contents: 130.231 items, totalling 21,9 TB (some contents unreadable)
versus
5,2TB used and 34,4 TB free

I was under the impression that (some contents unreadable) was a problem of permissions.
If that is the case: Would this affect the used and free statistics?
It shouldn't is what I think.

So the file system knows the files are there at least?!
Does that make the operation with Photorec or Scalpel easier or harder?

I was guessing those tools are to recover „deleted“ files.
And the files seem to be all there