HELP BOOTING Server 2019 from BACKUP

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

B1gJ1mmy

Jun 4, 2020
Good Morning.

Just wondering if I can get any help. I have been using Microsoft server 2019 for my home server for about a year now I get free access to it as I work in the education field.

Anyway. I was using windows server backup to back the C: drive of my server. Recently I had a drive failure this drive was not in a raid so I really have no option except to recover the C partition that I have been backing up every night.

What I did not realize is that is that the C: volume backup I have been doing is not bootable when recovered using windows server backup.

So I need Help!

I have 100% of the C volume. However I cannot get it to boot, I have tired the Bootrec /rebuildbcd and it detects the windows installation instance but will not rebuild ("the requested system device cannot be found") I have tried following several guides. I have used diskpart to recreate the EFI partition etc. however I am still not able to boot. I get the same error when I run Bootrec /rebuildbcd even after the EFI parition was setup.

I have a server 2019 boot USB handy and ready to go.

I understand that my backup solution was weak! however I figured for home use it would be sufficient. I guess i was wrong!

I really need this working I have a storage pool on this server I really need to get some files from.

Thanks.

LodeRunner

Apr 27, 2019
You could try doing a clean install and let the Windows installer redo the partitions and boot records, then recover the C image over that? I can't think of anything better to try in this case. Were you only backing up C instead of doing a System Image?

What process did you follow for attempting to restore C: ?

B1gJ1mmy

Jun 4, 2020