H12SSL- 7232p No video, IPMI (seems to be) working

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

RyanCo

Jan 19, 2021
Hey All-

Recently put together an h12SSL-i for a new server. I couldn't get any video out of it, but LE1 and Heartbeat both looking fine. So I connected to IPMI and it seems to be working, it correctly recognizes the processor, but also seems to think there are 8 32gb dimms installed when there is only 1. Sensors show a green check, but I can't read any CPU temps etc. It shows all the bios revs etc. I did try a BIOS reset...nothing has changed.

I've never used IPMI before, and the iKVM looks great but I'm a little lost on getting it working. A couple question there, do I need a key or different app to view iKVM and actually enter/access the bios? Without working VGA, I have no idea really where it's at in the boot cycle.

Also, any ideas on getting VGA to work? Is it worth the 27$ to buy the license? I need the license to actually use iKVM? I do have the jumper set to pins 1-2 for the video to be enabled. I also tried a GTX760 (only card I have laying around) and no dice there either.

Thanks

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
For the problem with the sensor(s) reset the bmc, not the bios.

You don't need a license for using ikvm, the licenses are for out of band management, stuff like remote bios updates.

You can find ikvm under remote control > ikvm/html5, there is a button that start a new windows where you can see the "display" of the system.
Screen Shot 2021-02-20 at 20.30.59.png

RyanCo

Jan 19, 2021
Thanks!

Mine looks slightly different, but I did do a BMC reset. Everything seems the same. Here is what I see. I don't see a tab on the left for iKVM, and under remote control there is only iKVM reset. I'm guessing this is related to the same issue of why the RGB output isn't working.