Gaming Headphone Suggestions

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
I currently have the Sennheiser PC 360 Headset for Pro Gaming and use it mainly for VoIP, but it does get used to game. I've been a BattleField 4 player for years now, and it's really the only game I play, and not too often. Well, I just started playing Players Unknown more, and started playing with some friends.

They can tell exactly what direction someone is in when they are shot at and can turn and find them quickly... me, I'm just over here like "I think they're North". But in a house I can hear foot steps directionally just fine so it's the fainter sounds I'm not picking up loud enough. I also game with it at 100% volume on the headset, computer, and game.

I think a DAC may fix this issue, as these are some nice sounding headphones but they never get too loud.

My other thought was maybe it's because I don't have 7.1/5.1 surround sound headsetr and maybe I'm missing some channels not 100% on this though as one other guy I play with uses cheap-o earbuds and he's ranked Top25 player in the game. I was considering getting the Sennheiser PC 373D.

Suggestions? Ideas?

T_Minus

Feb 15, 2015
Eyeballing: FiiO E10K USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier

Would prefer a more 'desktop' sized unit, and a non-micro/mini USB.

Or:
Amazon.com: Magni 2 Headphone Amplifier: Home Audio & Theater

Which is just an AMP, which may be 100% fine in terms of picking up more sounds I'm missing that are very subtle.

I've had schiit and fiio gear before, and had no problems with it but I haven't kept up over the last few years.

Thoughts?

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
Reactions: T_Minus

keybored

May 28, 2016