Full height rack - Bolt to wall or floor?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Ganesh

Jan 13, 2017
Folks,

I am a novice when it comes to setting up a data center. I have two 42U racks that I need to attach to the building frame. I am in SF Bay Area in the Peninsula in a rented place on the second floor.

The room where I intend to set up the racks are carpeted. Given a choice, I would like to not damage the carpet. So, am wondering if I can attach the racks to the wall. And if I do that, will I be limiting access? Else, is the right choice to bolt the racks to the floor as I have seen elsewhere? And pay to fix the carpet later?

Can someone please advise me? Thanks in advance,

- Ganesh

katit

Mar 18, 2015
Why? Not like it's going to roll away or something. My rack sits on carpeted floor on wheels. It takes some force to move it..

Ganesh

Jan 13, 2017
Why? Not like it's going to roll away or something. My rack sits on carpeted floor on wheels. It takes some force to move it..
I am going to run a bunch of production servers on the racks. Don't want to take any chances. Hence, thought would be better to get them fixed. (Watched San Andreas movie not long ago. May be the effect of that. :) )

cesmith9999

Mar 26, 2013
You should talk with your landlord first... see what they say for when you move out.

Chris

Ganesh

Jan 13, 2017
You should talk with your landlord first... see what they say for when you move out.

Chris
I did, Chris. I even got their permission to get an electrician to bring in a couple of 30A power points for the power supplies. It is managed by a property management firm. They are agnostic. Their response is that so long as we leave the office behind in good shape, it is upto us to leave it in good shape. Assuming 4 holes in the floor per rack, that would be 8 holes. All visible. :-( Hence, my concern.

cesmith9999

Mar 26, 2013