FreeNAS to AWS Glacier strategy

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Alfa147x

Feb 7, 2014
Hey folks,

I'm looking to backup my FreeNAS store that houses my photo library backups and video files to Glacier. The issue is my connection is 60MB/s down but only 6MB/s up so i'm looking to stage backups to a 5 TB external USB 3.0 drive and then move them to Glacier for off-site backups. That way if all of my drives fail I have a nearline backup and then if server rack gets stolen I have slightly stale backups on Glacier.

I'm not a pro photographer and only have new media a few times a month which is why I'm hoping to use Glacier's cheaper storage. Any suggestions on how to conduct all of this? I could spin up another BSD Jail or is there a tool that could help?

Also if I use FreeNAS to create snapshots, will that provide me with a simple file to push to Glacier?

Thanks!

Biren78

Jan 16, 2013
How much data do you actually have?

At 5-10TB you could almost pick up a cheap server, put FreeNAS on it and just do simple ZFS send/ receive to make it really easy on yourself.

Glacier retrieval times suck.
Q: How long does it take for jobs to complete?

Most jobs will take between 3 to 5 hours to complete.

Blinky 42

Aug 6, 2015
PA, USA
The other factor is how much content do you add/change per day/week/whatever.

For 5-10TB it may be cheaper and easier to just have a pool of USB drives and rotate them through your family/friends/office for offsite backup.
The AWS calc shows ~$35/mo for 5TB of storage. You could buy 3x 5TB USB drives and rotate them for the same price over a year and make a complete backup in under a day whenever you want without waiting for the upload.

That said, googling for rsync glacier gives a number of starting points, like DanielKinsman/lincremental · GitHub