1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Free streaming software

Discussion in 'NAS Systems and Networked Home and SMB Software' started by macrules34, Mar 1, 2017.

1. macrules34

macrules34 Member

I'm looking for a free program that would allow me to convert DVDs & VHS videos and then stream on my tv. I would like to be able to run this software on a VM on a home ESXi server. I am new to these technology's.

2. T_Minus

T_Minus Moderator

For streaming:

PLEX Server
    PLEX on phone, tv, roku, etc...

You'll need other software to convert your DVDs and VHS most notably to actually 'access' them and then I'd look into HEVC / H.265 Explained

3. manxam

manxam Member

I'm not certain that I'd recommend H265 just yet as many media players don't support this format natively and, therefore, Plex will likely have to transcode each stream. While it's definitely the future, I'd wait a couple of years and use x264 in mkv or mp4 containers for now. The file sizes will be bigger (4-5gb for decent 1080p with 6 channel audio ~2 hour long movie) but they'll be playable on far more devices.

4. vl1969

vl1969 Active Member

you may need couple of programs rather than one.
    for streaming Plex is good
    for ripping/converting there are several exists.
    if you can use Linux , Handbrake , k2b, work wonders, although you loose the DVD/CD menu
    you can also rip to ISO but it might not work for streaming.
    I like Handbrake as it does a very good ripping format.

5. acquacow

acquacow Active Member

I use handbrake on my desktop to rip/convert DVDs and a VM running Plex to serve everything up to my TiVo that runs a Plex app.

K D likes this.
  6. i386

i386 Active Member

I am running Universal Media Server on my server.

For encoding I'm using megui + avisynth on windows.

7. i386

i386 Active Member

I am running Universal Media Server on my server.