First server - need advice

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

joe8232

Oct 19, 2020
Hi all,

I'm very new to the world of servers so I hope this question isn't too basic. I did do some searching but I apologize if this question has been answered elsewhere.

I am looking to purchase a dual processor 2U server that I intend to use as a workstation to run CPU intensive codes under Ubuntu. Having done some research, it looks like the Gigabyte R282-Z93 should be suitable. It needs to live in a rack because I want to attach it via a 10 GB network to my Synology NAS and our IT prefer rack mounts to workstation towers.

I would likely spec it with 2 32 core 7002 CPUs and 128 GB RAM (64 GB per processor). My question is actually about GPUs. I would like to VNC into the server and also ssh through the terminal. For VNC/ Remote desktop I'm assuming I would need a GPU since (I think) AMD Eypc doesn't have onboard graphics.

I'm confused about the type of GPUs I can use in a server like this. Can I use a standard gaming style GPU like a 2080? This would have the advantage of not costing a crazy amount of money like a Tesla, but also does have CUDA capabilities should I wish to experiment with that in the future. I'm confused about whether double height cards can fit (presumably sideways) in 2U enclosures and how the power delivery works - do the chassis typically come with 8 pin power adapters for example?

Thanks so much and I apologize for the basic nature of the question!

Last edited:

BlueFox

Legendary Member Spam Hunter Extraordinaire
Oct 26, 2015