Fiber, iSCSI and me...

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Boris

May 16, 2015
Hello Sirs,

I am not experienced with Fiber, iSCSI and rest, but in past i tried to add same iSCSI target from Windows Server to multiple computers and found it nice, because my media storage was visible as internal disk. But i noticed, changes i made (copy new files, add folders) from my computer was not visible from my wife computer. Only after "reboot" i see changes. At least it's how i remember it. Atm i have iSCSI target, but only for my personal computer for music files and photo.
I googled and came to the conclusion that Windows uses a non-clustered file system. Therefore it works this way. At least I understood this so.

Tell me, please, do all storage systems work like this? Or, let's say, if I make an iSCSI target through OmniOS/OpenIndiana + napp-it and ZFS, will it work the same way? Or is there a way for all my home computers to be connected to the same iSCSI target and any changes immediately visible to other computers?

There are a lot of cheap fiber adapters over eBay, i even have some 2x4Gb cards. Want to use it somehow.

Sorry, if my question is too noob'ish.

Boris.

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
Yes, correct.
Unless you use a cluster OS/filesystem on top, iSCSI is a method to use parts of a SAN storage exactly like a local disk without any sharing option with other computers or users. If you would want to share them, you would need to use the sharing option ex on Windows.

If you want to simply share files between several computers/users, use SMB on OmniOS.
SMB shares the filesystem and you can connect from any computer and you can restrict access with ACL permissons. On Solaris/ OmniOS they are quite the same like on Windows ntfs. If you do snaps, you can access them via Windows previous versions.

Boris

May 16, 2015
Yes, correct.