Fan Noise on Supermicro Twin 2 Server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

ro345

Jul 31, 2017
Hi,
I'm wondering how loud the fan noise is on a Supermicro Twin 2 server, specifically this one here:

Supermicro 6026TT-HDTRF Fat Twin 2 Node Barebone 2U Server 2x X8DTT-HF+ SAS827HD | eBay

I have been using a DL380e Gen8, but when I put a non-HP card in, the fans spin up real loud. I have no experience with Supermicro servers, but a lot experience with HP servers.

Anyone have any experience with these? I've seen various hacks with replacing fans and tweaking IPMI. Do these work to get the noise down?

I'm not looking for silent, but quietish. The DL380e in its normal state is very quiet.

Thanks for any help.

ro345

Jul 31, 2017
Aestr, Do you have any idea how much power each node uses? What configuration are you running in them? Thanks.

Aestr

Oct 22, 2014
Seattle
The way the IPMI reports back it's for the whole chassis and I can't power one down right now but the following is using 190W:

- 2 x E5-2640
- 2 x E5-2643
- 16 x 16 GB DDR3 ECC DIMMs
- 2 x Intel X520-DA2
- 2 x Fusion-io ioDrive2 1.2TB

ro345

Jul 31, 2017
Thanks for that info, I think I will go for the X9, just have to wait for one to pop up at an affordable price on Ebay.

Aestr

Oct 22, 2014
Seattle
What's your rough budget for a barebone 2 node chassis? I have some saved searches I could check for you real quick if I know what you're looking for.

ro345

Jul 31, 2017
I would like to spend about $300, including drive trays and rails, excluding memory, CPU, and drives which I have already. It looks like those systems go for about $400 on ebay. I will keep a look out for a few months, if it doesn't fall below $400 after a while, I may just pull the trigger at $400.

Aestr

Oct 22, 2014
Seattle