Fan direction/flow and similar for SM 5018d-FN4T

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

cardiackid

Nov 12, 2017
(meant to post this in the DIY forum - had the wrong window up)

Hey all - figured I should finally register for the site after using a lot of the articles and posts for reference material. I'm brand new to a lot the topics covered here (all of this is a hobby - day job is entirely unrelated), so this will probably be my first n00b question out of several over the next few months.

I recently built a 5018d-FN4T equivalent (X10SDV-8C-TLN4F rev 2.0 board and 505-203b chassis) and I want to ensure I'm doing things correctly regarding airflow. I've searched around the associated manuals and I've yet to find anything definitive regarding cooling. I'm currently using two of the FAN-0100L4 fans in the side by side mount under the MCP-310-50501-0B air shroud.

Is my fan header understanding correct as explained below?
1) FAN1 header (despite being offset from the CPU/heatsink on the board) is the one that my primary CPU fan should be connected to, correct?
2) FAN2 header is the other header I should be using for the second fan under the shroud (would direct airflow over the RAM slots if air shroud wasn't used).
3) FAN3 header - not used, but would cover PCIe expansion card zone?
4) FAN4 header - not used, no idea what it would cover.