Dual Xeon D 1528 in a 2U case.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

K D

Dec 24, 2016
Build’s Name: Janus
Operating System/ Storage Platform: esxi
CPU/Motherboard : Supermicro X10SDV-6C+-TLN4F, 6 Core Intel Xeon D-1528
Chassis: Circotech RM-2270

Drives: Intel 3500
RAM: 32 GB/node
Add-in Cards:

Usage Profile: Learn esxi/docker and other platforms .

I was an MS application developer and have always had a few Windows Server boxes that I have used for R&D. My virtualization experience has been limited to Hyper-V to host my various SQL/Exchange/Biztalk etc VMs. My current setup is (1) Gen 7 Microserver, (1) Gen 8 Microserver, couple of white box Dual Xeon nehalems in Chenbro 4U cases and 2 other file servers (Windows) based on Adaptec 5805 and 7805 with intel expanders.

I recently decided to do some consolidation and planned out the following layout

Lab :
(1) Dual Xeon (????) with atleast 64 GB RAM for Application development in a 4U Case
-- Will retain one of my existing servers for now and retire the other.
(1) 12-16 Bay FreeNAS File Server (Primary)
(1) 12-16 Bay FreeNAS File Server (Backup)
-- These will host important media (Photos/Home Vids), Documents and Backups. TBD.
(2) Xeon D Based esxi hosts
-- This Build :).
(1) Sandbox Server
-- TBD

Home :
(1) 8 Bay Media Server
--- Will Host all Media and serve a few plex clients, AD, DNS, Security Cam NVR, sabnzbd etc. Recently pulled the trigger on a U-NAS NSC-810 that was delivered today. Still undecided on Mobo/CPU to use here. This will run Windows 2012 R2.
(2) HP Micro Server Gen 7 running FreeNAS.
--- Will host backups for my workstation and the various laptops.

The Build :

I was looking to get the GigaByte MBD-DS3 1541 board but got a really good deal in ebay for a used Supermicro 1528. So went ahead and got one more from WiredZone.com as I was looking to build 2 identical nodes.