Dell Poweredge R930 - Questions

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

RyanH

Jun 18, 2017
I have been assigned to selecting a new server for our office and although I"m not new to building computers and dealing with computer components, I am new to the world of enterprise servers. Our office has approximately 30 employees, and as of right now, there is no plan to implement VDI. The server we are looking at purchasing is a Dell Poweredge R930 with the specs listed below. Our budget is under $30,000 and the price for the servers with the following specs is $25,500.

DELL POWEREDGE R930
Operating System: WINDOWS SERVER 2012 R2 STANDARD
Processors: 4 X INTEL XEON 18 CORE PROCESSOR E7-8880V3 2.3GHZ
Memory: 48 X 16GB PC4-19200P DDR4-2400 REGISTERED ECC MEMORY
Hard Drive: 6 X SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 1TB NVMe PCI-EXPRESS 3.0 x4 SSD
Drive Bays: 2.5" Chassis with up to 16 Hard Drives and 8 PCIe SSD Drives
Raid Controller: PERC H730P 2GB CACHE RAID CONTROLLER
DRAC: IDRAC8 ENTERPRISE
Optical Drive(s): OPTICAL DRIVE INCLUDED
Power Supply: DUAL 1100W POWER SUPPLY
Networking: BROADCOM 5720 1GB QUAD PORT DAUGHTER CARD
Networking: BROADCOM 57810S CNA 10GBE + SR TRANSCEIVERS
Bezel: FRONT BEZEL
Rail Kit: RAIL KIT WITH CMA
Warranty: 5 YEAR WARRANTY

Some concerns I had were:
  • For the processor, should I upgrade to the E7-8890V4 processor? It seems this processor would be a considerable jump in performance, but I'm not exactly sure.
  • For the operating systems, would it be recommended to get Windows Server 2016 rather than WS 2012 R2 Standard? The pricing for Windows Server 2016 is very confusing, so not sure if this is even economical.