Custom Build Data Storage

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Ukyo

Apr 22, 2011
Hi Eeveryone,

For once, I found a site and forum that has real experience with the stuff I work with. :)

Our company leases servers as dedicated systems and application hosts. We have been looking
to stop using hard drives in our blades and run a central storage system that the blades
our customers use can iSCSI off of.

Initially, we spoke with Dell, and have been considering their new Compellent product line
that they recently aquired. Of course this heavily met our needs as it had dual head ends
for redundancy, allowed thin provisioning, and severeal other features. However, of course
the cost is just as impressive, as in around 30k just to get the basic basic setup with only
a single 15bay drive shelf.

I am new to developing stoage solutions as my primary is networking. I found sites like
TheBigWHS, and details and have been looking at useing an LSI 3ware card in a similar fashion.

So the idea was to build a dual nehalem xeon series server with 32gigs of ram. After reading,
and from really bad past experiences with LSI MegaRaid, and other brains, I began looking back
to (what has always been reliable for me) the LSI 3Ware series.

With expansion in mind, I am thinking of using the 3Ware 9750-8e. This gives me the dual
external ports should I decide to attempt to dual-link daisy-chan, or run two series of
daisy chained expansions. I did notice that the 3ware only supports (127?) devices as compared
to most others 256, but to be honest, I think that is more than enough for what we are doing.
I am honestly afraid that the 24Gig bandwidth alotment per external port will end up getting
taxed enough as it is when it comes to 120 or so devices.

(I am also considering getting a 3Ware 9750-16i4e and buying 2