Cumulus alternatives

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

devin_mm

May 7, 2019
I am fairly new to whitebox networking, I purchased a Celestica D4040 and was surprised to see that it has Cumulus 3.3 installed. The problem is the unit is fairly extensively configured and I tried to do a 'net del all' but it wouldn't complete giving me a dhcpd error, I have looked into doing an OS reinstall but it doesn't look like there is a fresh image saved on the unit (probably because the switch used to be managed by Puppet). Specifically the issue I am running into now is after doing a port configuration I get the error "Failed to restart switchd".

Finding a Cumulus image that I can use the license already on my switch doesn't seem too feasible and the configuration on the switch seems broken.

My question is what are my options? Are there any good Cumulus alternatives?

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
You could try to connect with cumulus and see whether they can provide a clean image given that you have a license.
If you want sth else make sure to save the license data

You could see if SoNIC is compatible, or ONL

chilipepperz

Mar 17, 2016
I'd do SONiC on anything if I could. You hear a lot of smack from Big Switch and Cumulus about SONiC. Here's the thing, people actually use SONiC :cool::D:rolleyes:;)

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
the only bad thing about it is that there are still a lot of nice features that are still missing (partially only on some hardware - splitting ion broadcom for example, or rdma improvements...)
And for me as a non enterprise user it would be very convenient if they had a webinterface;) api/cli is great but sometimes ...;)

nephri

Sep 23, 2015
Paris, France
Here : Azure/SONiC
They only seems to support the DX010 from Celestica.

Since they support the Trident2 Asic from the same binary (broadcom), it may be a chance to do it working !!