Convert current workstation setup to a server.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

snerran

Oct 31, 2013
Stockholm, Sweden
Hello everybody!

As a new member I'd like to thank everyone for making this community so great. Thank you!

I've been lurking on this forum for some time now but never bothered registering as I've used it primarily to gather information for my first server build. I haven't been able to contribute so much as I am very new to server builds. Server hardware is not really my strong side. I've worked with IT for ten years, currently employed as a Windows Server technician. Meaning I've only worked on OS and software level. We have a separate department that maintain our server hardware. Meaning I have little to no experience at all regarding server hardware. I have however built workstations since my teenage years. The reason for registering now is because I feel I really need your help with my first server build at home.

Here's the background and reason for the server build... Me and my wife live in a 3 bedroom apartment. We will extend our family with another member. She is due end of January next year. This means that we have to convert the current computer/hobby room to a bedroom. The result being we have to move my PC to our bedroom. We find this solution not so good. The PC is quite large and even though I've replaced all the fans with less noisy ones we find the noise to be too much for having it in our bedroom. My solution to this is to move it to our rather large walk-in closet and turn it to a more of a "pure" server. At present time it is running the following:

• Host OS: Windows 8
  • Virtualization: VMware Workstation running 3-4 VMs
  • VMs: DC / AD / DNS / and other network services (used partly for lab)
  • Host is also running Plex Media Server, FTP and serving as a file server on our LAN.