Help with workstation dual xeon intel S2600CP2J 32/64GB RAM

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Milos

Feb 22, 2018
Black hole with internet
Hello everybody ,
I have been reading thread for days with Intel boards S2600CP2J,
because I have almost no experience with the server boards, and I ordered this intel board to build my workstation.
This build will be used for everyday things and I need to run 2-3 Linux systems in same time over VMware workstation(don't know any other way, VBox I don't like problems with setup) on Win 10 as host . I am very new to this WMware use.
I took this board because it was cheapest that I could find to have 2x2011 CPUs sockets(150$ with shipping).
This build should work as a workstation not as a server.
Now I need to order my other components. And to make list of thing that I need for this build.
CPUs that I want to buy are E5 2650L or E5 2650L V2 , nice number of cores and I don't do to much demanding things at the same time so I think low speed should be fine, and I would like to see the power consumption and the heat small as possible , and I dont think I need more then 32GB or maybe 64GB of RAM max.
Question about RAM , for optimal performance I read that it is best to have number of RAM modules as CPUs memory channels , in this case that should be 4 times for each CPU , that means 8 modules of RAM.
RAM will be 10600R -1333 MHz because of price. Since I will need 8 modules it will be 8x4GB.
Or maybe to go with combination with one cpu and to go with 4x8GB and later to add second CPU and more RAM.
PSU I have is one on picture , it has shot cables but I have ordered extension cables 8pin and 24pin, think it should be good enough for this build for start anyway.
I don care about case since I want to go as cheap sa possible in the beginning. It will be out of case for some time, or if I find some old case to fit.