cheap used or new ssd at least 120GB

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Markess

May 19, 2018
Northern California
Maybe a dumb question, but could @wildpig1234 s Toshiba drives be formatted for something other than 512 byte sectors (i.e. 520, 528, etc.)? I have limited experience with this, other than picking up some NetApp drives in the past and reformatting them from 520 to 512 using the guide here in the forums. I wasn't using Windows, so don't know how they would have looked to Windows. In Linux, it was like they didn't even exist, until I checked the logs per this post and was able to successfully reformat from 520 to 512:

https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/how-to-reformat-hdd-ssd-to-512b-sector-size.4968/

But, again these drives are SATA, so maybe that's not a thing for SATA? But might explain why they all seem to have identical issues.

wildpig1234

Aug 22, 2016
Maybe a dumb question, but could @wildpig1234 s Toshiba drives be formatted for something other than 512 byte sectors (i.e. 520, 528, etc.)? I have limited experience with this, other than picking up some NetApp drives in the past and reformatting them from 520 to 512 using the guide here in the forums. I wasn't using Windows, so don't know how they would have looked to Windows. In Linux, it was like they didn't even exist, until I checked the logs per this post and was able to successfully reformat from 520 to 512:

https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/how-to-reformat-hdd-ssd-to-512b-sector-size.4968/

But, again these drives are SATA, so maybe that's not a thing for SATA? But might explain why they all seem to have identical issues.