"cheap" 40GbE switches - Celestica XP D4040 or Juniper QFX3600 (?)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

AveryFreeman

consummate homelabber
Mar 17, 2017
Near Seattle
averyfreeman.com
Hey,

I've never worked with any QSFP+ switches before, but it seems like some fairly decent ones are starting to get pretty affordable on eBay.

There's the Mellanox stuff that can be had super cheap, but a lot of the pitfalls I've seen described on this forum make me apprehensive.

I came across a Celestica Smallstone XP D4040 on eBay that looks interesting, although it also looks very old and very loud. But it says it's 40GbE and it's QSFP+ which is what I guess I'm looking for ...

lol, some of the first hits I pulled up in Google say it's got an Atom C2538 with a stepping bug that cause them to die prematurely, fun times... Must be why their 100GbE model DX010 is going for less than $400 here: Celestica Seastone DX010 32-Port 100G QSFP28 ONIE Switch MFGR Date prior to 2018 | eBay

There's also a Juniper QFX3600, which I think looks kind of awesome (I read up on it pretty deeply). It's primarily meant for QFabric infrastructure, but says it can be used as a standard ethernet switch. It also looks very old and loud, and power consumption specs say an average of 255w (!) Would like to know if that's idle or average use load... (hopefully not idle...)

I am writing this to ask if anyone has used either of these switches themselves - how old ARE they? How LOUD are they? Done any power consumption readings? Would either one be decent for home use, or would my entire house sound like a perpetual jet engine?

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
Is there a specific you choose these brands & models and not something from brocade or brocadearista?
There's the Mellanox stuff that can be had super cheap, but a lot of the pitfalls I've seen described on this forum make me apprehensive.
What pitfalls?