[Build Log] Silent Minimalist - SMA8(a) WC'd Threadripper Build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016

**Disclaimer** The above pic of the CaseLabs case is not my build. Though it is gorgeous.

First and foremost I want to acknowledge that this is not the typical STH build as this is really more of an enthusiast overclocker build but being that I'm an avid enthusiast of both home servers/networking and overclocking/watercooling I thought it might be fun to share this build here. This is as much of a hobby/artwork build as it is a productivity build. So with that out of the way, let's get started.

This is my first build since 2014 (see my Puff's Punisher S3 Build). I was forced to sell that build shortly after building it due to a sudden move and I've been itching for a new build ever since. Well, today (or in a month when my SMA8 rev. A arrives) is the day.
This build will be my daily workstation that focuses on VM's, video rendering, mining, and a little gaming on the side. So a little bit for everyone. For these purposes I've chosen to build around the Threadripper 1950x and x399 platform. Below is a list of components I've ordered/will be ordering and it will be updated regularly along with images as parts arrive. Feel free to chime in to discuss the physical components or the daily uses for this build as there are many. Links are to where I purchased these items though the prices have changed on some since I purchased them.

Workstation Components
WaterCooling

The goal of this water loop is to get as silent of cooling as possible. I'll be using ultra low speed fans and doing two loops.
Monitor

Dell U3818DW 38" Ultrawide 3840x1600 Monitor (yes not a gaming monitor, but then again I game maybe once/twice a month)

Last edited:

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016