best storage only os/protocol

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

stretch

Nov 13, 2018
I'm looking to build a storage only server that will connect to a secondary server via ethernet which will serve the content. What os would people recommend for the storage server? i use OMV for nas but think that's a bit bloated for what I need. Something that supports software raid would be best as i've had some bad experiences with hardware raid cards.

Also what would the best protocol to use to connect the storage server to the main one? nfs, webdav, sshfs etc?

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
That totally depends on what kind of data you want to serve and your speed/safety/compression/deduplication etc requirements.
Any modern OS can do that, even windows... (if you server another windows box for example)

stretch

Nov 13, 2018
I favour and confident with debian, I was looking for an out of the box linux nas distro that would provide simple file sharing. This will be used as back end storage with another debian server sitting in front of it and connected together via ethernet.

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
well why not a basic debian box then with nfs server? most simple solution if you don't have any additional requirements?
O/c you still can play with underlying filesystems if you want to?

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
If I understand correctly, you have a server that provides services and now you want a second one for backup or failover?

I would try to use ZFS on both systems. This would give the best possible datasecurity, Ransomware secure versioning with read only snaps and ZFS replication. This is a high performance method to keep two servers in sync even with open files, even on a high load Petabyte system down to a minute delay between. No other sync solution can offer this.