Another "how to a make supermicro setup quiet" thread

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

NotAServerGuy

Jun 16, 2019
For years I had been kicking around the idea of getting a big-boy setup and I recently bit the bullet. I am a software developer and not a server guy - I did a lot of research but I apparently neglected the possibility that the new rig would be that loud.

I've googled this quite a bit and came across people with similar builds that said they swapped out power supplies and/or fans and had some success. My fear is that I might order something and it wouldn't work with this setup. From what I've read this particular board can't have the fans controlled via the bios. It doesn't need to be whisper-quiet - the unit is in a closet in my basement. The problem is that it is so loud that I can hear it through walls and the ceiling. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Here is what I bought:

• Supermicro CSE-825 Chassis
    - 2U chassis supports for maximum motherboard sizes - 13.68" x 13", E-ATX 12" x 13", ATX 12" x 10" motherboards
    - Supermicro SC825S2 Dual Channel U320 SCSI Backplane 8 x 3.5" Ports
    - 8-port 2U TQ (W/ AMI 9072) backplane, support up to 8x 3.5" SCA Ultra320/160 Hot-swap Drives
    - 1U Redundant Power Supply
    - 7 low-profile expansion slot(s)
    - 3 x 8cm (7000 RPM) hot-swap PWM cooling fan(s)
  • Supermicro X7DB8+ Server Motherboard
    - Quad & Dual Core Intel® 64-bit Xeon® Support, 667 / 1066 / 1333MHz FSB
    - Intel® 5000P (Blackford) Chipset
  • 2x Intel® Xeon® Processor L5420 (Upgrade Options Avaiable)
    - 12M Cache, 2.50 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB
  • 64GB Memory
    - 16x 4GB 2Rx4 PC2-5300F Modules
Auction Includes:

• Supermicro SAS825TQ Chassis
  • Supermicro X7DB8+ Server Motherboard with Dual Intel Xeon L5420 Processors
  • 64GB Server Memory
  • 1x Slim DVD Drive
  • 2x Redundant Power Supply