Advice for building a home server/workstation

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

disasterisk

Dec 4, 2021
Hello,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to building servers so please be patient :)

Recently I decided to build a server which would be used for storage, but also as a workstation where I would have multiple virtual machines for testing/gaming/audio production. After some research it seems that Proxmox has what I need. I was thinking of getting a 12th gen Intel i7 or one of the top end AMD Ryzens with an integrated GPU for general use + an additional NVIDIA gpu (at least a 1660) which I would passthrough to a Windows VM for gaming and perhaps another AMD GPU if I ever needed it for some tasks. I would also virtualize OpenMediaVault for NAS functionality. I would also fit in as much RAM and storage as possible with a small boot SSD for Proxmox.

Now, as I understood it, if I assign a GPU for passthrough to a specific VM, then I can't use it in any other VM, even if I shut the said VM down first? Am I wrong?
Please note I'm very unfamiliar with Linux and all this would be a learning experience for me as well.

Also, I only plan on having a couple of VMs running continuously (such as OpenMediaVault) while I would use others like normal computers shutting them down when not in use.
I also want to use one of the VMs for audio recording/production so I would plug audio interfaces and other such devices into the machine. Is that viable?

Any suggestions and corrections of my idea are much appreciated.
I am also visually impaired so in case Proxmox's interface turns out to be inaccessible I was planning on using the web interface from my laptop.

Thanks in advance!

zunder1990

Nov 15, 2012
Yes you can share the GPU between more than one VM. It is not passthrough but instead it is using GPU-P.

Downsides of GPU-P
Documentation is thin