Advice about NVMe U2 card / backplane

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

sergi0

Dec 4, 2016
Hello,

I am a little bit a newbie about SAS U2 card but I am looking for a RAID controller or HBA able to support multiple U2 SSD, at least 4, but 8 will be ideal.

Do you have any advice on such device ?

Cheers,

Serge

BlueFox

Legendary Member Spam Hunter Extraordinaire
Oct 26, 2015
Broadcom 9460-16i (9560-16i if you want PCIe 4.0) or HighPoint SSD7120 will do what you want, though things get complex when you need more than 4 devices. This is possible on the 9460-16i, however it involves PCIe switches and such.

sergi0

Dec 4, 2016
Thanks for the heads up !

I saw those one (I should have look earlier on the site...) : https://www.servethehome.com/4-solutions-tested-add-2-5-sff-nvme-current-system/
I am especially interested in the Intel one as with 2 cards I can drive 8 hdd. By reading the article, I found that it may not be compatible with my systems (either an Asus Z10PA-D8 or a Supermicro X10SDV (one card for this one)).

Does it exists the same kind of cards with a wider compatibility ? I know this kind of solution are going to be a mess of cables compare to a backplane, but I will be able to have a better airflow (the system need to be as silent as possible).

If anyone has a good reference of backplane for at least 4 U2 drives, I will look into it for sure !

BlueFox

Legendary Member Spam Hunter Extraordinaire
Oct 26, 2015
All the cards listed in the article require PCIe bifurcation support. If your motherboard doesn't, you can get an HBA with a PLX chip that will take care of that for you. They are more expensive however. An example would be the Supermicro SLG3-4E2P.

If you want RAID, then you'll need something like I mentioned in my prior post.