A specific usage of the TinyMiniMicro servers.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

kalaspuffar

Aug 1, 2021
Sweden
danielpersson.dev
Hi everyone.

I've been trying to create a local Ceph cluster both for backup and for testing. We are running a more extensive cluster at work with a lot of computing power and memory, and when I checked GB per cent, the 2TB SSD disk was the best price. So we bought a lot of them.

Locally I've bought four different hosts with 4-5TB disks to get redundance and try different hardware and scaling. These hosts would probably be considered in the TinyMiniMicro project series. I watched all of them get some inspiration, which inspired me to make my hardware video; I realized that I'm not a pro.

Watching the series, I was wondering if the M90n-IoT would be a good host. But I don't know if the thicker hard drives will fit in that form factor.

I loved the simplicity of the Lenovo M900 and M920x. But then again, the hard drive trays could be an issue with larger units.

What I'm looking for in a host is a lower power footprint for the environment, lower price, one extra hard drive bay where you can put an inexpensive drive, and at least 4GB of memory.

The actual CPU is less important in a Ceph cluster if you don't have a lot of through-put, and in a local test environment, performance is not priority no 1.

Thank you so much for a fascinating series, and looking forward to more videos when you got your studio in order.

Best regards
Daniel

WANg

Jun 10, 2018
New York, NY
Hi everyone.

I've been trying to create a local Ceph cluster both for backup and for testing. We are running a more extensive cluster at work with a lot of computing power and memory, and when I checked GB per cent, the 2TB SSD disk was the best price. So we bought a lot of them.