10k 2.5 vs SSD 2.5

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Myth

Feb 27, 2018
Los Angeles
Hey Guys,

I'm doing some performance bench-marking with 2.5 10k sea gate spinning HDDs. They are fast. 8 of them will run at around 1200MPBS. Obviously not as fast as SSDs. I think one 2.5" 10k drive runs at around 160MBps. Then of course an SSD runs around 450MBps. But the spinning drives can sustain much more writes.

I work in the media field so I'm talking about terabytes per day. So I'm just trying to weigh the cost versus speed.

One of the main problems our servers have is that they get fragmented. These huge 80TB volumes get fragmented and play a video file across the entire array when if defraged will play sequentially.

So if an AVID video project is playing across multiple parts of the HDDs, because it's a fragmented project. Then we get playback studdering.

This would obviously be resolved if we had SSDs, but they are expensive, small in space, and have limited endurance. So I was just looking at these 10K ssds in the 2.5" form factor.

I'm thinking that because they spin fast, and are 2.5 they might be better able to handle the fragmented playbacks. What do you guys think?

Also, is there any performance benchmarks out there to test this sort of defragmented playback? Would that be a random I/O ?

-Myth

Blinky 42

Aug 6, 2015
PA, USA
Your fragmentation issue won't go away, it is there even with SSDs but they have the IOPS to mask it well enough so you probably never notice it.
An array of 10k or 15k drives will be faster than 7.2k drives that you may have now. I do a lot of work with large media as well and have found that setting up the storage side to match the workflow helps throughput quite a bit. Dedicated arrays of drives for inputs and outputs, and intermediate files when required is a huge win plus gobs of RAM.