Search results

1. C

My Customised SFF Home Server Build

I'm envious about the HD prices, here (Denmark) I have to pay close to 400€ for an 16TB WD Gold disk.
  2. C

HP EliteDesk 800 G3 Mini Additional Built-in NIC

They have relocated the A+E connector in Elitedesk 800 G4, anyone found an intel based card which fits in it ?
  3. C

The Latest N100&I3-N305 NAS BOARD

I would not call them NAS boards, they are more desktop MBs with 4 network interfaces. I'd like to see the Audio, DP and HDMI go, and then get IPMI, then it would be intersting. I know that the N series does not support ECC, but no matter what people say I do like to have ECC in my nas/server...
  4. C

ZFS vs. BTRFS: Safest Choice for Dummies?

I've been running a raid6 setup for +10 years and until now the only problem I've had is 2 dead drives (3 years apart). I have exclusively used it with ext4. To my recollection I have never said that there was anything wrong with ZFS, I just don't see that there is a reason for me to use it...
  5. C

Some people like to collect data, in my case I like to keep my photos which goes back +20 years. And my music (ripped CDs). That is a very good reason for having raid(6) and offsite backup. Raid is not backup, but it is a good thing if you loose a disk (or two).
  6. C

A possibly unpopular sugestion: mdadm + lvm2 - Synology is actually using mdadm for raid and put btrfs on top of it.
  7. C

CWWK/Topton/... Nxxx quad NIC router

Which exactly board is this one - I am also intersted in the console redirection ?
  8. C

Switchadvice POE+, 2.5G and at least 4xSFP+

The major difference between the QNAP and the Draytek is the POE budget, QNAP is 280w and Draytek is 400w - just from that perspective the Draytek is more interesting.
  9. C

Low Power 10 Gigabit NVMe server?