Search results

1. H

Advice on 10-15 meter (32-50 ft.) long 10GbE SFP+ cables

Hi, i have a desktop and server connected with Solarflare SFN7022F cards, point to point, no switch, using standard copper DAC cables (Cisco SFP-H10GB-CU1M) I need to move the desktop further away, and need 15 meter cables, but i have no experience. I'm assuming i'm going to need optical cables...
  2. H

Why can't we have home switches with 120mm+ fans in a 'non-pizzabox' type case?

So the big problem with all 10GB+ switches today is the cooling, because they all come in 1U type format, which only fits 40mm fans. a 48 port traditional switch has 4x 12 ports sections horizontally. If they were stacked vertically, they could be in a case sporting a single 140mm fan. Or 2x...
  3. H

How to enable pulseaudio over network after upgrade to Bookworm/pipewire

I run KDE desktops with pcie passthrough to physical GPU's on proxmox. I use barrier (now forked to input-leap btw) for keyboard/mouse, and pulseaudio over network for audio. My main baremetal desktop hosts the physical mouse/keyboard + barrier server, and the physical audio device. How other...
  4. H

Hacking the intel H10/H20?

So i recently bought a Orico USB-c nvme case off ebay that actually came with a 32+512GB Intel H10. Paid not much more than a new Orico, so i figured what the heck, because my Mobo has a "intel optane ready" M.2 slot. I already knew that i would not be able to expose both the 3dxpoint chip and...
  5. H

EU REMOVED - went to metal recycling. Chenbro 3U 12-bay rackmount storage enclosure (probably RM31212)

So this has been moving with me from place to place, sitting in storage. I have no use for it, since the 3U height doesn't fit a standard ATX PSU, it makes it too loud for home use. It's very old, about 20 years old i think, but in overall good condition. It has one PSU of unknown specs...
  6. H

Press release: Samsung Develops Industry’s First CXL DRAM Supporting CXL 2.0