Search results

1. F1ydave

Homelab - ESXI 6.7 wont remount drive after power outage

ESXI 6.7 wont remount drive after power outage. I have tried 30 different CLI tutorials claiming to have a fix for this. It appears this has been an issue since Esxi 4.0. I am surprised that VMware has never released a tool to fix this. Drive works fine, DiskInternals VMFS Recovery had no...
  2. F1ydave

Napp-it Virtual Machine Memory Usage Critical

Successfully installed OVA on ESXI 6.7u3, added pci card LSI 2008 and got this memory warning after boot. The only thing I've done other than the PCI card was to make a password. Napp-it Virtual Machine Memory Usage Critical
  3. F1ydave

New to Napp-it

I have no experience with zfs. I read through all the Napp-it website and the new onepager. I am still unsure of the best way to go about this. The pool/vdev is confusing to me. I have been using ESXi since 5.0 with just each drive a vmfs datastore. At one point I did have Veem or another...
  4. F1ydave

Any plan on finishing the buyers guide on the main page?

I was looking for some light reading today...the whole page is still unlinked. Did the plan get scrapped? https://www.servethehome.com/buyers-guides/top-picks-windows-server-2016-essentials-hardware/
  5. F1ydave

Plugging in a P4 breakout cable?

Assembling my new octocore dual cpu home lab... I have this breakout cable (Supermicro CBL 0097L-03). Where do I plug in the P4 and what is its purpose? It looks like it could plug into the pins next to the white SAS/SATA on the motherboard (pic attached/linked), but its wired next to the...
  6. F1ydave

ISO Dual CPU/Mobo that wont break the bank

My first home lab server was a supermicro x10slh-f-0, xeon e3-1245 v3 with 16 gbs of ddr3 1600m pc3-12800 ecc. I tried on two separate occasions to buy approved 32gb ram kits published by supermicro for the mobo and both times the ram did not allow more than 16gb. I have had 48 gb pc3-12800 ecc...
  7. F1ydave

KVM Switch