Search results

1. K

Formatting disks for ZFS on Linux

I ended up asking for help on the STH IRC channel and the basic commands are as follows - sudo zpool add zfspool mirror /dev/disk/by-id/id_of_drive_1 zpool add zfspool mirror /dev/disk/by-id/id_of_drive_2 So for my two disks, it looked a little something like this - sudo zpool replace...
  2. K

*Edit - found my answer. Thank you vanfawx on IRC for helping out. First, I need to find the process that's using the zpool - fuser -m /zfspool/zfsdata The data returned was /zfspool/zfsdata: 26661c I then needed to kill the process - kill -9 26661 Then I could destroy the zpool...
  3. K

That worked! Thanks so much for your help. Now I just need to configure the SMART/Zpool scrub alert settings .
  4. K

This past weekend I installed Ubuntu 18.04 and ZFS on Linux. Admittedly, I am a complete Linux noob and my knowledge pertains to Googling and copy and pasting commands into the terminal. Everybody has to start somewhere! I've got some old disks I'd like to create a storage pool with just so I...
  5. K

Getting SMART data from ZFS disks in Proxmox

Exposing the drives to the guest. What you said makes sense though with respect to Proxmox needing to talk to the HBA card in order to get SMART data. It seems that getting SMART via HBA from Windows, while issuing the SMART commands within the virtualized (Proxmox) environment, isn't possible...
  6. K

Getting SMART data from ZFS disks in Proxmox

Hi there - I'm using an LSI SAS9211-8I to pass through two disks via Windows Server 2016 to Proxmox (old identical 500GB drives - I'm new to Proxmox and I'm testing things out before I start importing production data) and I'm having a difficult time getting SMART data from the drives. I used...
  7. K

Detaching ZFS pools in RAIDZ1 - functional external storage?