Search results

1. F

unreadable video during esxi install through ipmi

Im not an expert, but I just finished setting up my core build using esxi on the x10slm as well. What cpu + other hardware are you using? Also it looks like you're accessing kvm viewer from the web remote ipmi. Could be a java version issue? Also try installing ipmi viewer and using that...
  2. F

[WIP] Coming to the dark side (consultation is appreciated)

*** Update*** ddrescue is chugging along so slow. I've plugged the External Seagate 3TB HDD into the USB3.0 port and its still chugging along slowly. Fastest speed I witnessed was about 35MB/s. I know I'm only 'halfway' through as I have 1.5TB of data on it. Its now way pass the 24hour mark...
  3. F

*** Latest update *** Now that I have the 'core' services up and running, its time to recover as much data as I can from my failing external HDD I previously used on my cheap home server. I did a rookie mistake of enabling DirectPath I/O passthrough on the USB Host controller for the guest OS...
  4. F

new home server questions

I guess that makes sense for a simple setup. RDM isn't officially supported by VMWare? Interesting.
  5. F

new home server questions

Hi modulus, Any particular reason why you wouldn't want to virtualize it through ESXi? Just curious. I've just started implementing my own virtualized server and I think it will help future proof your setup i.e. implementing future hardware or OS upgrades. You could even troubleshoot issues...
  6. F

Thanks Patrick Latest update is I've been building this for the past 9 hours, and I'm almost there. I'm having issues creating the zpool, it seems to through a Predictive Analysis error. Doing a iostat -en shows drive c1t0d0 with 5 Hard errors (ahh!). iostat -e gives more details that it was...
  7. F

*** Quick update *** Got all my stuff today. Here's some teaser pics:
  8. F