Search results

1. T

Low-cost NICGIGA 10GbE SFP+ adapter (X520-DA1)

I thought this was worth spreading the word about - 45 pounds sterling here in the UK (57 dollars/53 euros) from Amazon. Uses an Intel 82599 chip. I fitted it in my Windows 7 x64 box, installed the ProWin legacy drivers and has worked like a charm since 22nd Jan. iperf3 reports 7.77Gb/s, between...
  2. T

B2C equivalent of STH?

I'm looking for one or more independent hardware review sites similar to STH but focussed on the pro consumer as opposed to business user. Is there such a site? Too many PR regurgitators in the consumer space and those that publish reviews invariably have holes in the reviews where the product...
  3. T

10Gbit card for desktop

Have a look here, https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/home-lab-moving-to-10gbe.16594/ - I've been running this setup for over 4 years. I have exactly the same switch as you. 4 years down the line and I'm still a networking newbie, and I haven't gone beyond the 2 ports, it's just...
  4. T

Home Lab moving to 10GbE

Thank you :)
  5. T

Home Lab moving to 10GbE

Hello, chaps. So, all the kit has arrived. I decided to start with the cabling(fs.com #42270) and transceivers (fs.com #65334). Now, it all seems to fit together correctly, indeed I deliberately tried the incorrect orientation and of course, it doesn't fit. So, I have a patch cable terminated...
  6. T

Home Lab moving to 10GbE

Thank you for the advice on the Mellanox Connect-X 2 card. It is going into a custom-built silent PC with no airflow, so I can add a case fan to blow directly on it (PCIe slot 5 in an ASRock z97 Extreme9 board).
  7. T

Home Lab moving to 10GbE

@leonman I'm in the UK, here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/D-Link-DGS-1510-20-Gigabit-Stackable-Managed/dp/B00H554JL4 Added a post to the low-cost switches thread, too.
  8. T

Gigabit + 10Gb Switches under $550