Search results

1. andrewbedia

Size mismatch VM windows with Proxmox ZFS?

Disclaimer: I am not a proxmox user, but am well familiar with KVM and have used ZFS for many years. I am curious if you figure out a way to do this. What I've seen is that Windows will not unmap blocks in a way that ZFS sees as "freed" when stored as image files (e.g. qcow2) in a zfs...
  2. andrewbedia

HGST: Unknown smart status after low level format

It says unknown (I'm pretty sure) because there are no thresholds detected. Did this drive ever work in your possession? Try in a linux machine and use gdisk?
  3. andrewbedia

nvme enabler cable?

Yeah if you have bifurcation support on your board, just jump on the linkreal. I have a linkreal pci-e switch card with 4x 8643 on my ryzen system (I don't have bifurcation support) and it works great.
  4. andrewbedia

nvme enabler cable?

they're expensive and not worth it at all. I couldn't get more than 600-900MB/s on 2TB Intel P3500 drives. I was using a Lenovo 530-8i erased and put on stock Broadcom firmware (equivalent to 9400-8i). Also, the smart data refused to pass through. My advice is walk away and go buy a proper quad...
  5. andrewbedia

Asus Strix X399-E U.2 (sff-8639) to SATA using mini HD SAS to SATA

Highly doubtful. I would point you towards reading the manual for the board to confirm, but that is almost assuredly only for carrying PCI express.
  6. andrewbedia

Time to upgrade my 5 year old build? Using Xeon E5 2650L v3 (12c/24t) 1.8

E5-2673 v3 or E5-2678 v3 plus max effort turbo mod?
  7. andrewbedia

multiple NVMe SSD cards - still unclear

have you seen https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/multi-nvme-m-2-u-2-adapters-that-do-not-require-bifurcation.31172 yet?
  8. andrewbedia

Ubuntu Server & L2ARC on Same Drives