Search results

1. N

Building a Proxmox VE Lab Part 2 Deploying

These practical tutorials are very nice :) My setup is similar, in that it has three nodes, but instead of GlusterFS I use Ceph RBD and CephFS.
  2. N

Lightmatter Mars SoC AI Inference Using Light

Now this is something extremely interesting! We've all seen it: electronics like this, electronics like that, electronics with these gates and with those gates, with a rainbow and a unicorn... ... but THIS is something completely new in terms of an actual implementation! I studied physics in...
  3. N

eBay GSP in summer 2020

@Dreecy: That is a fair criticism of the program, since it is true :) In my particular case, though, I trade latency for variance: Swiss customs can be very jittery in their processing latency, and that I shave off by paying a bit more in terms of latency.
  4. N

eBay GSP in summer 2020

FWIW: I choose offers with Global Shipping a lot from Switzerland, because that way you pay everything, including VAT, beforehand, and customs clearing goes a lot faster. It would be a shame if that went away.
  5. N

I can sleep again ... Noctua NH-L9x65 in Supermicro SC216

Does anyone have a suggestion for a 1151-based CPU?
  6. N

Sabrent EC-TFNB EC-NVME and EC-WPNE M.2 NVMe to USB Type-C Review

I use a similar enclosure to connect an M.2 to my Raspberry Pi 4B; that is a lot faster and more reliable than using its internal uSD card.
  7. N

Proxmox

If you're going for 4 nodes, you may actually consider going for 5 nodes. The reason being N+1 vs N+2 resilience: The cluster (the same goes for Ceph, should you decide to run it on there) requires a _majority_ of members to be up to run properly. In other words: th quorum is the next integer...
  8. N

FYI: Western Digital admits 2TB-6TB WD Red NAS drives use shingled magnetic recording