Search results

1. J

Proxmox networks

I'm relatively new to Proxmox and I'm looking for insight on proper setup of Proxmox networking. It seems there are various networks that need to be considered. Admin (gui/ssh), cluster (corosync), storage, migration/replication, external network for guest VM's, and maybe more I'm missing. What...
  2. J

S3500 480GB $129

Any opinion on grabbing one of these as a cheap SSD for laptop(s)? I'm ashamed to say I've never used a datacenter drive in a laptop, primarily samsung evo drives or something else cheap. But these look like a decent option.
  3. J

FreeNAS Corral dataset replication

Corral replication still requires snapshots, correct? I'd imagine if no snapshot job is setup it won't actually perform a replication. I wonder if people are forgetting to do that? I haven't had a chance to test the Corral release (have two 9.10 systems in production and can't risk any issues...
  4. J

My favorite thread so far in the proxmox forums

I do not like running docker in a VM. Completely counter intuitive and I think it is a poor trend honestly. Fine for "development" but completely backwards for production. There are many reasons why I feel this way (performance, provisioning, management, visibility, and more) that have been...
  5. J

LSI 3008 SW Controller

Why don't you just setup storage spaces on the Hyper-V host? No need to passthrough the drives to windows server. I've used the 3008 controller to setup a Hyper-V Server 2016 host using Storage Spaces (tiered storage of 2SSD in RAID1 +4HDD in RAID10) and it works fine.
  6. J

ProxMox vs OMV vs UnRaid vs Debian/Centos w/ Docker + KVM vs Rancher

Was looking at RancherOS (had not heard of it before). Seems they have the ability to run KVM VM's wrapped inside a Docker container, which is neat. What types of storage is supported by RancherOS? I'm seeing some references to EXT4 and ZFS support. With ZFS that sounds like a really nice combo...
  7. J