Search results

1. jcl333

SR IOV worth it?

Hello, I have never tried to use SR IOV before (I have used pass-through) and I was wondering if it is a good idea, mainly in terms of reliability but also in terms of bang for the buck. My potential use case is iSCSI between a FreeNAS VM and a Windows VM. I could just setup a virtual switch...
  2. jcl333

Anyone have success using T10-PI / 520-byte protection information with LSI RAID?

Hello, I just got some really nice LSI 9361-8i controllers, and I noticed in the software that this controller and the drives I am using support this feature to protect against silent data corruption. Older post here has the sg-format commands to do it...
  3. jcl333

LSI 9361-8i 12Gb/s RAID w/CacheVault+supercap $175

LSI MegaRAID LSI 9361-8i SAS 8-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller w/CacheVault+Battery Listing is for $189.95, they accepted my offer of two/$175. Also, if you use the eBay app on a phone to make the purchase, you can get another $10 off (code for that I used was YUSAPPGR28BLLYQM ) There are allot...
  4. jcl333

Free: SuperChassis 116TQ-R700CB (Boston area if possible)

Hello, I purchased this chassis because I wanted the motherboard, but I have no use for it. Doing major spring cleaning, I was going to toss it, but there is actually nothing wrong with it. So, I thought I would offer it to my friends here at STH ;-) SC116TQ-R700CB | 1U | Chassis | Products |...
  5. jcl333

LSI Mr SAS 9361-8i $199 on ebay, legit?

There are lots of these on e-bay, seeing if I can get someone to sell me a couple for a good deal. LSI Mr SAS 9361-8i // 03-25420-14C SAS/SATA LP Raid Controller w/ Battery | eBay Anyone had luck with these? Any problems with counterfeits? The part numbers don't exactly match what is on the...
  6. jcl333

Go-to RAID cards for ESXi 7.x?