Netflix no more

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

CreoleLakerFan

Oct 29, 2013
Yeah, so after more years as a subscriber than I can remember, I finally cancelled my Netflix membership (a few minutes ago).

I leased a small office starting in January. Internet service is provided by the building ... They're using the Class B RFC 1918 set of addresses as a flat network with a /16 for both wired and wireless access for the building.

Do I need to say any more?

Needless to say, I got a VPN subscription from Private Internet Access to use at the office. I finally got around to setting up pfsense at home with an OpenVPN client today. And of course found out that Netflix is blocking my VPN provider. As they use Amazon's CDN I am completely uncomfortable with white-listing Netflix sources (destinations) from my VPN connection.

My privacy and security is more important to me than the convenience of watching a few shows. I bought the full series set of "Magic School Bus" which is currently the only thing on Netflix my kids care about, paid about 4 months worth of Netflix fees for it. Geo-location by IP has got to be the least sensible way to enforce content restriction. It makes me wonder what other lazy and stupid development practices Netflix is using, which makes me think my personal data is not safe with them.

dataoscar

Dec 2, 2013
I contemplated cancelling as well, but I ended up creating a transparent proxy at home just for Netflix traffic. It was a pita, but for now it works. I almost cancelled after fumbling with it for over a week.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

CreoleLakerFan

Oct 29, 2013
After thinking about it, I realized that I don't watch Netflix enough to justify the hassle. The cost is minimal, but I kept it as a convenience to entertain the kids every so often. They are young enough that they are flexible.