Intel Xeon E5-2670 Deal and Price Tracking

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

whitexp

Apr 21, 2016
hello guys, I try to build my first system with a e5 2670 v1, I'm looking for a cheap mother board single socket. could point me some?

nthu9280

Feb 3, 2016
San Antonio, TX
I have a Natex S2600CP board that shipped to UK from US that I'm in the process of building up now. I have just got the board to POST sitting on my desk with a newly acquired Fractal Design Newton 800w PSU and 64GB Samsung RAM. I only let the board run a few minutes since I was concerned about lack of airflow with the board sat on my desk with the supplied 1U copper CPU passive heatsinks, but knowing the board is OK has de-risked the project for me going forward. I have a couple of Cooler Master Hyper T4 heatsinks on order now.

Re the case, I ordered a B grade Phanteks Enthoo Pro case which seemed a bargain but arrived with front smashed so was returned. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise because what surprised me most was the fact this case is soooooo huge!!!! It is pretty much double the volume compared to the dual xeon HP Z600 workstation it will replace. I can live with a single SSD + HDD and a decent GPU, so I really don't want such a big case. I will use it for rendering in Blender plus general PC use.

Up to now my case search has focussed on SSI EEB form factor compatible cases, but since this is a server motherboard these cases are all huge, so I'm now also looking at E-ATX cases. I understand E-ATX also has 12"x 13" form factor as per SSI EEB, and generally all board locations are similar, apart from three of the middle board stand offs are in different locations, but this is easy enough to modify.

I like the Corsair Carbide Air 540 cubist style, apart from the window, but guess I could live with that.
Also Silverstone GD07 is quite small, but it's really a HTPC case.