Updating from Windows Server 2003 to 2012

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

F1ydave

Mar 9, 2014
A little background: I am an accountant who bought out a firm a couple years ago. They had an old file server (RAID 5), which ran fine. It was getting low on space (we all know how well windows does when it gets low). I bought replacement drives that were 2X larger...but couldn't get the server to recognize them as larger. The company who ran his IT and setup that particular HP server couldn't get them to be recognized either. In the end, I virtualized the server as a temporary solution onto one of my old media servers.

Has anyone updated from 2003 (for small business) to 2012 R2? I have tried to follow about 30+ different tutorials and seem to always hit a point where my 2003 is missing the files that are listed in the tutorials, for 2012 R2. I have attempted to use all the 'recommended' software by microsoft. I have done all the recommended updates for the transition too.

I am at my wits end with this crap. I am just not sure how I should go about migrating it. The office runs on this domain with 5 computers plus a printer. Nothing crazy. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Would my best bet be to do a backup and restore to 2008 and then to 2012?

Mike Bailey

Sep 24, 2015
New York
Have you considered simply spinning up a fresh 2012 R2 instance and performing the logical migration of shares from one server to the other?

If it's a simple file server, I can help you figure out what shares exist and how to create them in 2012 R2. It's pretty easy actually.

Doing the migration of the file server role over would only take a small bit of time (a couple of hours, tops) plus any time for the data migration.

Trying to figure out (and make sure it still works) how to upgrade from 2003 to 2012 R2 could end up being a nightmare, as you have already encountered.