White and Gold or Blue and Black - what did you see

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
Even stranger. I woke up yesterday and saw white and gold. I went to the Gym and saw white and gold on ESPN, the local news and etc.

I got home and saw Blue and Black. My wife saw Blue and Black. She has another datapoint now in the investigation on my sanity.

HellDiverUK

Jul 16, 2014
In my defense, I have a few issues with colour, grays often seem brown, and I've serious issues differentiating green and blue.

Boddy

Oct 25, 2014
I see both white and gold & blue and black.
I studied photography, photos taken in shade can have a bluish hue (sky), under incandescent bulb gives off red/orange light (our brains compensate and it looks normal) & fluorescent bulbs give off a greenish hue. Try taking photos with old 'film' camera. Digital cameras adjust hue and can be biased towards certain tones. My Samsung Galaxy SII makes things warmer, hence it really exaggerates anything reddish and gives pictures a reddish/orange hue. Colour blindness could affect what someone sees. Ultimately, it is our brain that interperates the sensory input.

NeverDie

Jan 28, 2015
USA
What?!?! It's simpler than that. Most monitors aren't color calibrated, so for starters we're all seeing different stimulus images. You know this is true if you've ever compared different brand TV's sitting close to one another in a store. Moreover, if you're looking at the image on an LCD monitor, which pair of colors you see can depend on the angle you're looking at it. Viewed dead-on it looks white-and-gold, and at an angle (tilt the screen back if you're on a laptop) it's blue-and-black. Or, at least that's how it works on my laptop.