Intel-RES2SV240

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

chinesestunna

Jan 23, 2015
If you are using SATA drives, I don't know if dual-linking the cards helps at all. SATA can only use a single channel as far as I remember. If you view the card in the MSM software, I think if you have dual links it only shows one up. I will have to check my systems again to be sure.
So dual link is purely for the sake of redundancy and failover? I'm new to the SAS/Expander world and have read some about SAS multipathing but would like experts to confirm:
  1. Assume we have HBA1 and HBA2, both 8 channel with dual SFF-8087 ports and this Expander with 24 ports and 6x SFF-8087
  2. We have this particular expander, and is connected to both HBAs via single link, so HBA1 Port 1 -> EXP Port 1 and HBA2 Port 1 -> EXP Port 2
  3. now the EXP has 4x SFF-8087 left over which we'll connect to a backplane and populate with SAS drives
Questions:
  1. Is the assumption now should either HBA1 or HBA2 goes down, the devices and software will automatically failover to the path provided by the other HBA?
  2. If both HBAs are up, do you get all the PCI-e bandwidth provided by both?
  3. What if the expander goes down? In a truly redundant case would you want 2 expanders and connect both HBAs to EXPs in a crisscrossed arrangement?

Chuckleb

Mar 5, 2013
Minnesota
I took a quick read of the SuperMicro manual, it has nice drawings. Anyway, if you are using hardware raid cards, you can't connect two of them into the same expander since the raid config is only being used by one card. If they are HBAs, the multipath is handled by MPIO software.

SATA only has a single data channel so you only get one path. I think overall bandwidth would be defined by which route you use in the MPIO config? I haven't done this yet... I guess it would be similar to iSCSI.

canta

Nov 26, 2014
hi canta!