Burnt Out and Bored w/ My Storage

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

sboesch

Aug 3, 2012
Columbus, OH
So, I am burnt out and bored with my current storage system. I have been running Omni-OS with Napp-it for a couple years now and am looking for something new to do with the hardware, or even just selling it all off. This is not a for sale thread, more of a ho-hum, I have this server and have moved everything off of it (to an all in one esxi box) and shut it down and I am bored with this thing.

Current system specs:
Operating System/Storage Platform: OmniOS/Napp-it
CPU: Xeon E3-1230v2 CPU
Motherboard: Supermicro X9SCM-F-O
Chassis: Rosewill RSV-L4411 Chassis
Drives: 8x Hitachi 2TB Disks, 4x Toshiba 3TB Disks, 1x Crucial M464GB SSD for OS
RAM: 16GB UDIMM Kingston RAM
Add-in Cards: 2x IBM M1015 crossflashed/9211 IT mode, 2x Intel Dual Port Server NIC
Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts 650 Power Supply
Usage Profile: Storage, iSCSI Target, SMB Shares, MediaTomb

I keep asking myself what do I do with this system? ebay? Install Windows and storage spaces (boring)? Linux (boring, been using Linux since 1996)? Break out 1lb of tannerite from my stores and blow it up in a dramatic youtube video?

PigLover

Jan 26, 2011
It may be boring, but that is still quite a functional and reasonably powerful platform for a file server. Don't really know what is boring about it...

TuxDude

Sep 17, 2011
Btrfs raid5/6 is looking mostly complete (though not really tested at all) for Linux kernel 3.19 when it is released. Or grab a couple used QLogic HBAs (one for this system, one for another) and turn this into a FC target.

Could always donate it to a friend/family while keeping 1/2 of its storage for yourself for a "free" offsite backup solution.

rubylaser

Jan 4, 2013
Michigan, USA