Silverstone DS380: ITX 8x SAS/Sata Hotswap

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

AZengus

Jun 24, 2014
Hah, it's mainly a Media Server/NAS build for me (currently!). I'm planning on installing FreeNAS or virtualizing it for now; if I have any other fun ideas this build may be versatile enough for me to expand upon (14x SATA, Dual-LAN and an 8x PCI-E slot, although the choice of PSU may limit my options for what to put in there). Oh, there is a build of Plex Media Server for FreeNAS so I may be running that as well (as opposed to virtualizing Linux to run that). So, a bit simpler I think, compared to what you are doing.

TBH I grew up building computers but I only tinkered with consumer builds, this is my first attempt at something more "professional". I'm just going to build it and see what I can do with it, maybe gain some experience along the way.

By the way, if you work on a ton of builds you should considering getting Newegg Premier. It's $50/annually but they'll offer free shipping on all orders and free returns (they cover return shipping and RMA fees); it's great if you're experimenting and you're not certain a part is what you want... If you build a lot of computers I reckon you'll either save money or at least break even every year. I think I broke even at this point, and I'm only three months into my subscription (I'm returning that long SeaSonic PSU for free, and I saved on shipping costs on this and another computer that I've built from scratch).

And Haswell-E is coming out later this year - that might help solve your lane problem? It would likely be pretty expensive though... maybe hop onto eBay and see if there are engineering samples post-launch - don't know if I would officially recommend that though, might not be reliable

Last edited:

wlee

Aug 8, 2014