WD Red SA500 1TB SSD Review

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
by the company that used smr in nas oriented hdds :D

Edit: And now without cynical comments.
No power loss protection for a “red” SSD?
These drives probably target the soho nas where you have "write once, read many times" workloads and don't need write amplification. For that market these drives are okayish.

Last edited:

Evan

Jan 6, 2016
Why does anybody make a new 1 or 2tb sata m.2 ?
Maybe 4tb would be interesting at a great price or an 8TB 7mm 2.5” again at a great price...

Otherwise why the market has moved on hasn’t it ? Either NVMe for fast or maybe some market left for high capacity and low power bulk storage but this is just a nothing release.

WillTaillac

Feb 28, 2020
My day job is working at a MSP covering small businesses, and I can assure you that plenty of businesses still have less than 1TB of data. 4TB and 8TB drives are great and all, but the size of a Quickbooks file, Excel document, PDF, and other such business items really hasn't scaled up as much as drive capacity (SSD or HDD) in the past while.

I actually just went and looked, and the average size of the offsite backup dataset for my clients has definitely gone up; in 2013 it was 541GB and as of yesterday it was 1438GB. While that represents a fairly large 2.6x increase in data, it still doesn't represent much given the 7 year passage of time. And my 1438GB number is also somewhat skewed by a handful of clients with much larger datasets (6TB+) that drag the overall average a bit higher.

You might also ask "why SATA"? And the answer to that is simple; it is cheaper, easier to connect, and lots of places do not need the speed. 95% of my small business clients still operate on 1 GbE networks, so why would you need NVMe on your file server if everyone is accessing it remotely via 1 GbE NICs?