Looking for low power 24/7 virtualization&Nas platform.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Shadowtm

Apr 1, 2020
Hey guys,
I was looking through some Reviews on STH while looking for a new CPU and Board for a low power virtualization system.

Trigger Warning: I am new to Servers and Low Power Parts !

I require some LXC Containers and some Vms on a Proxmox host that can run a Samba, Nextcloud and other small lxc containers. (All Linux)
In an optimal Scenario, the Server should also be able to run a Gameserver like Minecraft.

Build should not be too expensive overall.

So essentially what I am looking for is a mb/CPU Combo with a low Idle usage [<30W including everything], that can raise a little bit of power if necessary. But it should still not exceed ~75 Watt at load.
- Needs to be able to do virtualization.
- Should have at least 4 Sata Ports.
- Should have at least 1x1GBe, better would be 1x10GBe.
- Should offer at least 1 PCIe Slot to enable Upgrades(10GBe Networking, more Sata Ports)
- Should boot without an external GPU

Like I said the main usage is 24/7 NAS/DC for my home, so no heavy user numbers.

I want to use a minimum of 3x2tb WDRED and 1 Samsung EVO for Proxmox and LXCs/Vms.

For PSU I wanted to go with Bequiet, since from my experience they produce good PSUs with a good efficency for a good price.

For a Server Case, I am still searching. Should be 19", 2-4 HE with Hotswap Bays.
- Does not need over 8 Bays though, 4 would do.
- Should take ATX Mbs and PSU.
- Should not cost alot.

I was taking a look at the AsRock J5005. With 110€ cost, it is very cheap. It does not have ton of power, but should do at least for a few LXCs and 1-2 Vms. But I doubt I will be able to run any Gameservers on there.