AI/Deep Learning/Machine Learning/HPC Build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

TectraTech

Jan 25, 2020
Swindon
Hi all,

I am interested in building a workstation or server that can tackle the above tasks and have a few GPUs knocking about. I have read numerous guides online, but most tend to advocate GTX/RTX and desktop hardware etc. I am in a relatively uncommon situation as I am an IT broker (primarily enterprise) and manage my own stock so I have random smatterings of components everywhere. If there is anyone out here that has experience in configuring enterprise equipment for the above tasks I would love to pick your brain!

Proposed build:

Chassis:
- Dell PowerEdge R630/R620/R610/T330/T620/T320
or
- HP Z420/Precision T7910/T5810/T5800
- CPU (2x E5-2690 V1 or 2x E5-2695 V3) is this overkill? The GPU will be handling the crunching? I can always sub out for a more modest CPU such 1x E5-2620 V1/V3 etc.

- RAM (16GB DDR3 12800R or 16GB DDR4 2133MT/s - depending on the system) 32GB is too expensive to squirrel away for this hobby so I would prefer to use 16GB & I have enough to fully populate any of the above machines. Should I max out the RAM or will I see diminishing returns after a rough figure?

- HDD (Mechanical 15Ks or SAS/SATA SSDs?) Should I be running an all flash system? or have a OS SSD and mechanical drives for data? Or this is not that important?

- OS (Ubuntu or Windows?)

- GPU: This is the part I need the most help with.